Webinars

ALL WEBINARS ARE TAUGHT IN ENGLISH AND GENERALLY AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED.

Licensing & Business Considerations
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, December 14, 2020 7:30 PM EST / 04:30 PM PST
End:Monday, December 14, 2020 8:30 PM EST / 05:30 PM PST
Register
Litigation
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, December 7, 2020 7:30 PM EST / 04:30 PM PST
End:Monday, December 7, 2020 8:30 PM EST / 05:30 PM PST
Register
Post-Grant Proceedings
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, November 23, 2020 7:30 PM EST / 04:30 PM PST
End:Monday, November 23, 2020 8:30 PM EST / 05:30 PM PST
Register
Application Process & Prosecution II
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, November 16, 2020 7:30 PM EST / 04:30 PM PST
End:Monday, November 16, 2020 8:30 PM EST / 05:30 PM PST
Register
Application Process & Prosecution I
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, November 2, 2020 7:30 PM EST / 04:30 PM PST
End:Monday, November 2, 2020 8:30 PM EST / 05:30 PM PST
Register
Patentability Requirements III: 103 (Non-Obviousness)
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, October 26, 2020 7:30 PM EDT / 04:30 PM PDT
End:Monday, October 26, 2020 8:30 PM EDT / 05:30 PM PDT
Register
Patentability Requirements II: 102 (Novelty)
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, October 19, 2020 7:30 PM EDT / 04:30 PM PDT
End:Monday, October 19, 2020 8:30 PM EDT / 05:30 PM PDT
Register
Patentability Requirements I: 101 (Subject Matter Eligibility) & 112 (Sufficiency of Disclosure)
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, October 5, 2020 7:30 PM EDT / 04:30 PM PDT
End:Monday, October 5, 2020 8:30 PM EDT / 05:30 PM PDT
Register
Claims, Inventorship, Ownership & Patent Rights
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, September 28, 2020 7:30 PM EDT / 04:30 PM PDT
End:Monday, September 28, 2020 8:30 PM EDT / 05:30 PM PDT
Register
General Introduction to Patents
Hosted by MIT Graduate Student Council
Start:Monday, September 21, 2020 7:30 PM EDT / 04:30 PM PDT
End:Monday, September 21, 2020 8:30 PM EDT / 05:30 PM PDT
Register
Patent protection for inventions is a valuable component of business strategy for startups and established companies alike. This webinar is an overview of how patents work, and covers the basics of U.S. patent law, including inventorship, patentability, the patent application process, prosecution, litigation, and licensing. We will discuss what recent developments in patent law mean for inventors, and draw examples ranging from the computer software to the pharmaceutical industries.
Hosted by MIT Chinese Entrepreneurs Energy Community & Battery Bridge
Start:Thursday, August 20, 2020 6:00 PM EDT / 03:00 PM PDT
End:Thursday, August 20, 2020 8:00 PM EDT / 05:00 PM PDT
Watch Recording
Startups often find it difficult to understand patent claim language and to sort out complex inventorship and ownership issues on their patents. This session discusses how patent claims work, the law regarding inventorship and ownership, and the scope of patent rights. By the end of this webinar, you should be able to: – Read a patent claim and understand its scope. – Identify the factors that determine whether someone qualifies as a co-inventor or co-owner on a patent. – Prevent or mitigate potential disputes regarding inventorship or ownership of patents.
Hosted by Venture Cafe Cambridge
Start:Thursday, August 13, 2020 5:00 PM EDT / 02:00 PM PDT
End:Thursday, August 13, 2020 6:00 PM EDT / 03:00 PM PDT
Patent protection for inventions is a valuable component of business strategy for startups and established companies alike. This webinar is an overview of how patents work, and covers the basics of U.S. patent law, including inventorship, patentability, the patent application process, prosecution, litigation, and licensing. We will discuss what recent developments in patent law mean for inventors, and draw examples ranging from the computer software to the pharmaceutical industries.
Hosted by MIT Chinese Entrepreneurs
Start:Wednesday, July 15, 2020 7:00 PM EDT / 04:00 PM PDT
End:Wednesday, July 15, 2020 9:00 PM EDT / 06:00 PM PDT
Watch Recording
Startups often ask how the patent application process works and how to deal with their applications being rejected. In this seminar, we will discuss the US patent application process and prosecuting applications.
Hosted by Venture Cafe Cambridge
Start:Thursday, July 9, 2020 3:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM PDT
End:Thursday, July 9, 2020 4:00 PM EDT / 01:00 PM PDT
Watch Recording
Startups often ask how the validity of their patents may be challenged by others, how they may enforce their patents against alleged infringers, and how they may generate revenue from their patents. In this webinar, we will discuss how these procedures work in the US Patent & Trademark Office (post-grant proceedings) and in the federal courts (litigation), as well as the laws that govern patent licensing deals.
Hosted by Newlab
Start:Wednesday, July 1, 2020 12:00 PM EDT / 09:00 AM PDT
End:Wednesday, July 1, 2020 1:00 PM EDT / 10:00 AM PDT
Recording link password: Newlab
Watch Recording
Startups often ask whether their technology qualifies for patent protection, and if so, when the appropriate time in their R&D cycle to apply for patents would be and how much to disclose in their applications. In this seminar, we will discuss the patentability requirements (including patentable subject matter, novelty, non-obviousness, and sufficiency of disclosure).
Hosted by Taiwanese American Professionals
Start:Wednesday, June 24, 2020 8:00 PM EDT / 05:00 PM PDT
End:Wednesday, June 24, 2020 9:30 PM EDT / 06:30 PM PDT
Recording link password: TAP#2020
Watch Recording
Patent protection for inventions is a valuable component of business strategy for startups and established companies alike. This webinar is an overview of how patents work, and covers the basics of U.S. patent law, including inventorship, patentability, the patent application process, prosecution, litigation, and licensing. We will discuss what recent developments in patent law mean for inventors, and draw examples ranging from the computer software to the pharmaceutical industries.
Hosted by MIT Club of Princeton
Start:Tuesday, June 16, 2020 7:00 PM EDT / 04:00 PM PDT
End:Tuesday, June 16, 2020 8:00 PM EDT / 05:00 PM PDT
Recording link password: MIT2020!
Watch Recording
Startups often ask whether their technology qualifies for patent protection, and if so, when the appropriate time in their R&D cycle to apply for patents would be and how much to disclose in their applications. In this seminar, we will discuss the patentability requirements (including patentable subject matter, novelty, non-obviousness, and sufficiency of disclosure).
Hosted by Venture Cafe Cambridge
Start:Thursday, June 4, 2020 5:00 PM EDT / 02:00 PM PDT
End:Thursday, June 4, 2020 6:00 PM EDT / 03:00 PM PDT
Startups often ask how the validity of their patents may be challenged by others, how they may enforce their patents against alleged infringers, and how they may generate revenue from their patents. In this seminar, we will discuss how these procedures work in the US Patent & Trademark Office (post-grant proceedings) and in the federal courts (litigation), as well as the laws that govern patent licensing deals.
Hosted by Venture Cafe Cambridge
Start:Thursday, May 14, 2020 5:00 PM EDT / 02:00 PM PDT
End:Thursday, May 14, 2020 6:00 PM EDT / 03:00 PM PDT
Watch Recording
Startups are often unclear on what technology qualifies for patent protection, especially when it comes to software and life science innovations. American Patent Agency PC—an MIT-trained team focused on drafting, filing, and prosecuting U.S. patents for tech startups—will cover what to consider when applying for patents, as well as recent developments for patent eligibility in specific fields.
Hosted by Newlab
Start:Thursday, May 14, 2020 12:00 PM EDT / 09:00 AM PDT
End:Thursday, May 14, 2020 1:00 PM EDT / 10:00 AM PDT
Recording link password: Newlab
Watch Recording

Ready to get started with American Patent Agency?

Let's Chat

© 2020 American Patent Agency. All rights reserved. Website made byAlbert Ho.